Abg Johari not telling names of BN candidates yet

Posted on : 17 Apr 2018  Source of News: borneo post online

KUCHING: Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg yesterday kept mum about the state Barisan Nasional (BN) candidates for the 14th general election (GE14).

He even said “I don’t know” when prompted for the BN Sarawak candidate list after launching LONGi (Kuching) Sdn Bhd in the Samajaya High Tech Park here.

Bernama quoted national BN secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor on Sunday as saying that the list of BN candidates should be unveiled seven or 10 days before the nomination day on April 28.

There are 31 parliamentary constituencies in Sarawak – 14 are traditionally contested by Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), seven by Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), six by Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and four by Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

A couple of seats held by PBB including Santubong and Batang Lupar have been rumoured to see a change of candidates.

The incumbents are Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (Santubong) and Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim (Batang Lupar).

Prior to the dissolution of Parliament, SUPP and BN-friendly United People’s Party (UPP) sealed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) over the allocation of the seven seats.

Signing of the MoU was witnessed by Abang Johari but it did not touch on the allocation of seats between SUPP and UPP.

However, speculations have it that UPP is interested in the two parliamentary constituencies in the central region – Sibu and Lanang.

Both Sibu and Lanang are presently held by Democratic Action Party (DAP) incumbents Oscar Ling and Alice Lau, respectively.

In the last general election, BN Sarawak lost six of the 31 seats to the opposition – Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sarikei, Sibu, Lanang and Miri.

In recent weeks, Abang Johari had on one occasion or two said that the state BN was confident of retaining all its current parliamentary seats and wresting three more from the opposition, which would mean that BN Sarawak could win 28 out of the 31 seats.