S’wak govt to look into extending coverage, eligibility criteria for air ticket subsidy

Posted on : 10 Mar 2019  Source of News: The Borneo Post

Abang Johari and Awang Tengah sharing a ‘wefie’ with the youth at the town hall in Lawas.

LAWAS: The Sarawak government will look into the proposal to extend coverage of air ticket subsidy for students in Sarawak and its eligibility criteria, said Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

“Perhaps, it will be based on distance and family financial background,” he said when officiating Lan Berambeh Town Hall session in Lawas today.

Abang Johari said this in response to the proposal by a youth that the airfare subsidy should be extended to students from northern Sarawak .

The female participant of the town hall from Long Ugui said it is a burden for parents to cough up money for the airfares of their children studying in Kuching or elsewhere in the state.

Abang Johari arrives at Hotel Seri Malaysia on a scooter with Awang Tengah and a convoy of motorcycles in town.

In response, the Chief Minister said the request was reasonable but the Sarawak government anticipated that similar request would also be forthcoming from those in the Central Region of Sarawak.

Currently, the RM600 annual subsidy for each student under this scheme by the Sarawak government covers only those studying in Peninsular Malaysia, Labuan and Sabah, and this was introduced by Abang Johari in response to the request by students during a Lan Berambeh session in Kuala Lumpur last year.

Abang Johari said the scheme which was introduced as RM300 per trip, was tailored to accommodate those returning for festive occasions.

“We made it twice a year as there are students of mixed marriage and want to return for a family reunion with Chinese family and Gawai Dayak or Hari Raya, “ he said.

Among present during the event were Assistant Minister of Agriculture Dr Abdul Rahman Ismail, Petra Jaya MP and PBB senior vice president Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, Lawas MP Datuk Henry Sum Agong, Limbang MP Hasbi Habibolah, Batu Danau state assemblyman Paulus Palu Gumbang,